Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Tech Questions and Answers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Flywheel

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Carpenter Paul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Flywheel
    Posted: 09 Mar. 2017 at 10:50pm
Help! I'm a newbie here and wondered if I could pick your brain's? I have a '46 CJ2A and currently have the trans and transfer case out for a re-build...Leaks like a sieve, imagine that! I figured that while I'm in this far, may as well replace the clutch assembly etc. I'm ready to pull the flywheel in order to have it resurfaced and get to the rear main seal, while I'm at it. Well, the flywheel didn't get the memo and is not sliding off. My next guess is use some type of flywheel puller but wanted to get some direction before I start ruining things. Any tips or "best way to do this" out there? The various pullers I have aren't large enough to catch the clutch bolt holes. A Friend says that it should just be a push fit and should slide right off? First time and want to do it right.

Thanks!
Unkamonkey View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Unkamonkey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Mar. 2017 at 11:09pm
There are 2 tapered pins that locate the flywheel to the end of the crankshaft and they have been known to rust in place. Try some real penetrating oil on them or the 50/50 ATF transmission oil mix. Wait a day or 2.
Put a few of the nuts back on loosely and use a 2x4 and a hammer to break it loose. Good to keep your toes out of the way if it falls off.
uncamonkey
mbullism View Drop Down
Sponsor Member x 4

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mbullism Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar. 2017 at 12:16am