Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > General Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A little body work advice needed

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jeepermat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A little body work advice needed
    Posted: 22 Nov. 2007 at 6:57pm
This is my 482a. I bought it from someone who started rebuilding it, little did I know what I was getting into.
I am doing some of the body work right now, definatley not my favorite thing to do. I thought the body was pretty straight until I really started getting into it. It has a ton of body filler. I have been scraping that crap off for a few months now to see what I have.

Here is the pass side below the door
I was thinking about just cutting it out right were the tool box seam is, and replacing it. What gauge steel have you guys used for this? Any pics of how you did yours?

Next up is the front part where the fender attaches, it has a pretty nasty crease
I have no idea what to do here, I think I could straighten it ok, then use filler, but I really hate using lots of filler, any recomendations?

On to the rear fender, is looks like swiss cheese up close, and is really weak, I want to cut it out and replace it, but again easier said than done. The damage extends all the way around to the tailgate, there is a ton of filler there to remove, but it looks pretty bad.What have you all done for repairs here? Just looking for any advice/past experience.

Thanks
Pat T. View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pat T. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov. 2007 at 8:30pm