Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > General Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How I met my Willys

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote konstan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How I met my Willys
    Posted: 22 July 2017 at 11:55pm
You know, like "How I met your mother"... ?

Anyway, funny story. This is last year but I don't think I told it before.

I have this buddy. He and his GF are from the UK. Every year or two they come over to visit us, spend some time at the farm, splash in the pool. She went to college with my wife, so, this goes way back.

Well, one year when they were here, we are driving around and he sees this M38A1, sitting outside, with $888 written on the windshield. I had been driving past that thing for at least 5 years every weekend. (I know, right? A steal, but I didn't know any better).

So he buys it, we put the title in my name because he does not have an SSN, and they go back home. I put the M38 in my barn. Whenever my buddy comes over, we haul it out, work on it, then put it back in the barn. It's his jeep, I am just the custodian.

So, the next year, while casually browsing my local craigslist I see a CJ2A. My buddy was here, so he starts in with "this thing is even older and we should totally jump on it" and well, so... thats how I met my Willys.
Unkamonkey View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Unkamonkey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 July 2017 at 5:38am
Good, my first Jeep was a MB. the start of this craziness.
uncamonkey
Ol' Unreliable View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ol' Unreliable Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 July 2017 at 6:01am