Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > How to information
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Starting Issue

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 48-17Willys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Starting Issue
    Posted: 14 Jan. 2019 at 1:43am
hello everyone

I have a question that I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I have a CJ2A that I inherited from my dad that has always started just fine. Recently it just won’t fire up. It turns over great but just won’t fire. I have replaced the spark plugs and wires by still no luck. I’m not really sure where else to start. Sorry I’m new to this. Any help would be appreciated. 
Thanks 
Cory
Cory
2017 Willys JKU
1948 CJ-2A #208783
Unkamonkey View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Unkamonkey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan. 2019 at 2:09am
Lots of things about this posted. Condenser being the most mentioned. A lot of things to check like clean connections in the wiring. Nice looking dog but I am partial to Labs and Border Collies.
uncamonkey
RSR_MK View Drop Down
Sponsor Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RSR_MK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan. 2019 at 11:37am
As stated, condenser is common. It’s also been very damp in our area. I have had issues with moisture in the distributor cap in damp weather. Normally in warmer weather though. 

To be honest it could be a lot of things. I would check for a good hot spark at the points. You can pull the cap off and watch the points with a helper turning it over or open and close the points with a screwdriver with the key on to check. Weak or no spark here will point you in one direction and good spark will lead you in the other direction. 

Would be best to post this in the tech help area to get more feedback. 

Mike