Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Off-Topic area
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welder Broke!

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob3b Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Welder Broke!
    Posted: 10 Apr. 2017 at 1:20pm
I have been using a cheap Clarke brand mig welder for probably 18 years on everything I've ever worked on...Friday I took the day off to get 8 hours of uninterrupted garage time to finally finish putting the floor into the driver's side.

Long story short, my welder started being weird and not pushing the wire through properly.

I tested it out on the bench and it was definitely broken. I tore it down and it has a stripped gear in the gearbox that drives the wire.

I started looking for a replacement welder on craigslist, and then it struck me to check eBay. I found brand new units that are motor and gearbox all in one unit so I should be back in business in a few days.

I have a large TIG welder also, but when you are hunched over a floor, tucked between bracing members, a mig welder is so much easier to use.
1946 CJ2A #23881
1953 CJ3b, nice!
1949 Jeepster
1947 Empire Model 90
1985 CJ10A
Spen "S" Utility trailer
Kubota l3400
wadoyado View Drop Down
Sponsor Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wadoyado Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr. 2017 at 7:49pm
Bob3b...just thought I mention in case you weren't aware, that they make a torch mounted current control so you don't have to deal with a foot peddle when tiging(new word?) Joe wadoyado
"It's unbelievable how much you don't know about the jeep you've been driving all your life" (Mickey Mantle paraphrase)
Bob3b View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob3b Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr. 2017 at 2:04pm